Skip to content

PixelView TV/FM Tuner Card

I’m having a minor problem with my TV Tuner card on this computer: I can’t tune the TV.

The radio part of it’s working fine. The reception is perfect, and we’ve preset nine channels on it. The FM Tuner (the radio picks up only FM) works very well indeed.

But for some reason, I can’t get this TV tuned. In fact, I can’t figure out how to tune it. I don’t even know if you can tune it manually. I’ve found a fine-tune function which, by the way, I don’t understand the workings of. Yet even the manual and help file (which, interestingly, are identical to each other) fail to bring up some way to tune the TV.

There’s this "scan" function I’ve tried. It tunes channel one, and only channel one — not the channel I want most. And while it can tune channel one to decent reception, the fact remains that channels two and three, the ones I watch most, just won’t come.

Maybe, it being a Taiwanese product, it’s designed for cable television, though it does have an antenna mode. Perhaps I’m just asking for something beyond its capabilities. But that’s how confused I am with this: those are my best diagnoses. The only other possible explanation I can think of is that the tune function is right under my nose and I haven’t spotted it.

If anyone could help me on this, my TV Tuner’s model number is PV-BT878P+. It is known as "PixelView PlayTV Pro" and is made by Prolink.

For the meantime, I’ll have to live with just the radio.

Related Links

  • Prolink
  • Advertisements
    No comments yet

    Leave a comment

