Skip to content

One day, six hours of examination

I’m tired. I now know what it’s like to sit two three-hour exams in the same day, and admittedly it’s not the easiest of things… by the way, if you’re going to have two exams in the same day and you’ve never done it before, skip to the next heading because I don’t want to worry you about your turn.

I’ll just give one more chance for those that have a six-hour day waiting for them to leave… okay, well now, my right arm is sore from writing and it didn’t help to have English (write-all-the-time subject) in the afternoon… actually I guess it did help because then my arm wouldn’t have been sore for calculus. Thankfully, I didn’t get dehydrated (thanks to our principal for his advice), but I was very uncomfortable during my English exam — a sharp turn on my calculus one.

Right, now that I’ve finished droning on about how tiring and consuming and tiring and painful and tiring sitting two exams in one day is, I’ll get on with the exams themselves.

Mathematics with Calculus (two-in-one-day-ers, skip to here)

Timewise, it went well. I finished with a solid half-hour to spare, including the time spent carrying out my habit of checking answers as soon as I’ve answered them. I’m fairly happy with my answers, though I try not to be confident about the results (knock wood). We’ll just have to wait and see for that one then… I’ve not much too say about it.

English

As I suspected, by the time I had finished close reading, formal writing, film and poetry studies I had but fifteen minutes left — not enough time to start on the novel essay, not when I hadn’t yet proofread my formal writing nor finished the close reading. I was still perfecting answers for the close reading when the "pens down" signal was given. So timewise, my prediction was right and I can look forward to being one of the first batch of candidates to receive a "very not achieved" on my interim results (see blog of November 9).

But the questions. The film and poetry studies both forced me to my backup topics; neither would allow an extensive discussion on production and language features. Lesson learnt here, but thankfully not the hard way this time: always prepare backups. I hadn’t prepared the backups in as much detail as I had my first choices, because I had figured the chances of me needing to revert to backups was small… clearly not. Hence it did not go according to plan.

As for formal writing, well, I had a topic I actually believed in but I’m not convinced with my discussion; for unfamiliar texts I used the preparation I did to give it everything I had and answered all the questions as best as I possibly could. Whether they were correct answers is a different story. I spent about 85 minutes on unfamiliar texts (in total, not all in one go), 45 on formal writing, 20 on film and 30 on poetry (roughly).

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. alice #

    lol yes very not achieved indeed…im starting to think maybe i should have done what you did because i spent 2 hours on my 3 bloody essays and had one hour to do unfam. text and formal writing..needless to say,i didnt finish. i roughly(very roughly) attmepted unfam text and my formal writing was anything but convincing…im praying that i only failed one…

    16 November 2005
  2. Elena #

    unfamiliar texts were absolutely horrible!! I should not have attempted it at ALL!! Argh econs this afternoon…

    17 November 2005

Leave a comment

