Skip to content

Things I would have written about

The past year has been a hectic one.  The time for reflection on the year itself has yet to come, but it does seem as if I’ve been writing “I haven’t had time to write” on this blog far too many times.  Indeed, there is a lot I was almost dying to write about on this blog that simply gave way to assignments, projects and places I had to be.  Those who followed my blog last year and the year before will remember the post frequency that is no longer; there is so much I didn’t get a chance to write about this year that I probably don’t remember half of it.  What follows, though, is a list of things that stick to my mind, in no particular order, which have become outdated, old or pointless, and which I regret having to leave out.

  • Those changes to the NCEA in June that were not only overdue, but actually pretty decent.
    It feels strange not having written about that (I started a draft but didn’t have time to finish it) after the extensive critique I’ve offered in the rest of this blog.  But yes, I did very much like those changes, and yes, I thought they were pretty major changes.  And most of all, I’m very, very relieved it didn’t involved the awarding of “extra” credits.  NCEA’s on its road to recovery.
  • The rise and fall of John Key, who made a rather entertaining entrance into the political limelight.
    It doesn’t take a fool to realise he started driving the National Party left, closing the gap between the two main parties.  Then there was slip of tongue at the National Party conference, followed by the Labour Party’s merciless attack in the following Tuesday’s question time.  Then he started announcing policies.  That was when his poll ratings dropped.  Oh dear.
  • Those Christian parties, or lack thereof, who also had an entertaining skit.
    I dare say they’re not giving themselves a very good start.  Close the failed party to open a new one, then announce co-leaders at different times without apparent co-operation and then we’re not even sure who the co-leaders are?  I don’t remember whether or not it fell through in the end, but I mean, a coherent performance, well done, guys, well done.
  • That referee’s rather odd decision, which was a concern but can’t be blamed for our early exit from the Cup.
    I’m not saying the referee was right, or that we still would’ve lost had he called that forward pass, but that there are a million factors to a rugby game of which a referee’s decision is but one.  Sure, they wouldn’t have scored that awful try.  But I mean, we would have scored had we not kept giving them the ball in the last ten minutes!  The referee is often used as a ventilation outlet simply because he is an easy target.  It was rather sad to see all of New Zealand go down that path here.
  • All those year thirteen students that take media studies and that quiet admiration I had for them.
    Yes, the word was “admiration”.  Maybe I’m overestimating them, but I don’t know how they do it.  It seems to me like one of those subjects that consumes more time than most and probably requires more skill too.  But then, they often seemed surprised when I said I was amazed by the short films they had produced.  Maybe I’m just idolising them for no reason…
  • The implications of the after-ball not happening, and I didn’t say an after-ball, I said the after-ball.
    There might have been attempts to organise one, and that there were many that took place, but the fact of the matter is, no matter how you look at it, there was no the after-ball.  Why?  Because there wasn’t one at which most of us were.  There’s no-one to point a finger at, but it’s a rather sad statement on our school’s sense of unity.  We are not the year I thought we would be.
  • Maybe democracy was a mistake… a sad and depressing thought, but I have to explain this.
    The school trustee elections and local body elections were both this year, both of which are based on the premise that the people that run units of our society are democratically elected.  Parent voter turnout at my school’s trustee election was 10 per cent (which isn’t a bad turnout, apparently); the student election later that year gave an 18 per cent turnout.  Local body election turnouts were what, 40 per cent?  I’ve recently been contacted by the Elections Office to see if I’m interested in helping a big push to get people enrolled for next year’s general election.  Democracy, the idea that people are involved, seems to need a vast effort to exist at all.  And then people are content to complain about elected officials?  It might be their democratic right, but a democracy gets the government they deserve—especially if half of them didn’t even vote.

There would be many more, obviously, that I wanted to write about at the time but had forgotten about a week later.  But I suppose having to neglect your blog is the price you pay for deciding to stay at high school for another year for “social reasons”.  Maybe next year…

With the end of seventh form looming over, and my final national exams period on its way, I suppose what’s to come in this blog is a collection of exam commentaries not unlike mine of last year and the year before (this year’s four-exams-in-two-days part should be fun) and, as is the tradition, tributes to the institution I’m about to leave.  For anyone that gives a damn.  (You know you do!)

No comments yet

Leave a comment

